Medulla spinalis: porción intrarraquídea del Sistema Nervioso desde el agujero occipital hasta la vértebra LII.
   <(A.): Rückenmark: Teil des zentralen Nervensystems, der sich in einem Kanal der Wirbelsäule, dem Rückenmarkkanal, befindet.
   <(F.): Moelle spinale: moëlle épinière: partie du système nerveux central située dans un canal de la colonne vertébrale, le canal de la moëlle épinière.
   <(In.): Medulla spinalis; spinal cord: The major column of nerve tissue that is connected to the brain and lies within the vertebral canal and from which the spinal nerves emerge. Thirty-one pairs of spinal nerves originate in the spinal cord: 8 cervical , 12 thoracic , 5 lumbar, 5 sacral, and 1 coccygeal. The spinal cord and the brain constitute the central nervous system ( CNS ). The spinal cord consists of nerve fibers that transmit impulses to and from the brain. Like the brain, the spinal cord is covered by three connective-tissue envelopes called the meninges . The space between the outer and middle envelopes is filled with cerebrospinal fluid ( CSF ), a clear colorless fluid that cushions the spinal cord against jarring shock. Also known simply as the cord. Function: contains important sensory and motor pathways and autonomic neural centres.